MNAC

I am obsessed with museums.

Literally any chance to go to a museum that I get, I gotta take it!

I went to Barcelona over the weekend with the goal of going thrift shopping. Honestly, I hadn’t expected it to be so hot here and I was in desperate need of some more shorts and some T shirts.

Anyway, on my way there, I realized that — now that I have my UAB student ID — I could probably cop a student discount at the MNAC, the Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya (which I actually wrote about in a previous blog post).

The MNAC is one of my favorite museums I’ve ever been to. It’s really helpful to be located in the most gorgeous Palau Nacional on Montjuïc with a stunning view of the city out the front entrance of the museum.

I am so weak for oil paintings, you guys. I imagine that’s pretty obvious at this point with my attempts to do my own paintings, but I really can’t handle the impasto and texture that oil gives, as well as the vibrancy of the colors.

Details from Nen pompeià, Arcadi Mas Fontdevila, 1879

But I first took a jaunt through the medieval art section, where I sat and did some sketches of the radical ass wall paintings the old Catalan Christians created in their sites of worship (also included is a sketch of a female nude painted by Ramon Casas).

Forgive me a little for the perhaps not-so-flawless execution of these sketches. They were just studies of interesting characters I encountered and were done in very dark dim cave-like museum displays. Whatever, why am I making excuses for art I had fun drawing? We gotta stop apologizing, people!

Anyway, I enjoyed my stroll through the halls of the Romanesque and Modern Art halls very much. Cool thing that MNAC does: One ticket is good for two days within a month! So I decided to not do the whole museum in order to have a reason to head back down there and enjoy it all again.

A few more photos from my trip:

After such a pleasant morning and early afternoon consuming the fine art that the MNAC has to offer, I set about the actual purpose of my journey: Thrifting.

I stopped by Flamingos Vintage Kilo to grab some goodies, including the whackiest find of a 1987 Twins Wold Series Champs sweatshirt. If you didn’t know, the Twins secured their spot in the post season last week and will be facing the Yankees this Friday.

I’ve decided that this must be a sign of what’s to come. Fingers crossed, friends.

As far as life updates go, I had enrollment this past Friday. Pretty exciting stuff as we got to hear a little bit about the classes that are coming up for the year as well as the schedule.

Classes start on Wednesday! And by that I mean that I have two classes on Wednesday and nothing else, so that’s great (just kidding, I really want to get into the classroom and get to learning already!!)

Leave a comment