National Letter Writing Month

If you haven’t been able to tell, I’m kind of a sucker for national celebrations of anything.

I’ve discussed NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and Inktober (a drawing a day in October) before on this here blog, but I figured I’d introduce you to another creative month that has been occupying much of my time this past, well, month.

I didn’t actually know National Letter Writing Month (held during April) was a thing until March’s meeting of our epistolary club, when another member mentioned it offhand.

I really can’t help myself from participating in such festivities.

It definitely helped that I’ve been kind of slacking on my letter writing recently. I’ve been a bit overwhelmed–to say the least–with preparing for grad school and because of that, I have been incredibly slow to reply to letters and even slower at sending general birthday, housewarming, and other thematic cards.

As to not add to the pressure I already feel like I’m under, I decided that I didn’t need to write a letter/postcard a day, like many others are. So far, I’ve mainly worked in batches, writing two or three cards every couple of days.

And I’m having fun with letter writing again! It’s nice to fall headfirst back into things that get pushed to the back burner in favor of other things.

That’s one thing I definitely struggle with. I’m so interested in trying out as many things as I possibly can that I oftentimes find myself being spread thin throughout my interests, not taking the time to fully enjoy them like they’re meant to be enjoyed (The other activity that has recently fallen prey to this behavior is unfortunately knitting! After I finally finished my scarf, I casted on for my next project and haven’t really touched it since. I must make time for that next.).

God, Gemini problems, am I right?

I know it’s late in the month, but there’s still time to participate! Even if you only send one letter, that’s one letter you wouldn’t have sent before; one person whose day will be brightened to find a real letter in their mail instead of junk and bills; one time you sat down and made the active choice to set aside other activities and write out some kind words to someone who is important to you; one keepsake that someone may find years down the line that brightens their day possibly more so than the first time they opened their mailbox and saw it in there!

Goodness, look at me getting all sentimental and in my feelings. It’s a rare thing (especially from a Capricorn moon like me, you know) so enjoy it while it lasts!

Obligatory mention of my GoFundMe! Please, readers and friends, if you have even a dollar or two to spare to the cause–that is, sending me to grad school in Barcelona–it would mean the world to me. If you can’t donate (there are rewards, by the way!), sharing my fundraiser with those in your circle would be equally as helpful. I really appreciate the support I’ve already gotten, but we’re not there yet! Here’s your call to action.

Leave a comment